Virtualization – solved intelligently

Using storage capacities intelligently

virtion Object Storage vOBS

The virtion Object Storage – vOBS – is a secure storage service which allows you to easily store and retrieve any kind of digital objects or rich media content such as images, videos or Office documents from anywhere via internet.

vOBS’ primary goal is to help you reducing the complexity and lowering the costs related to storing and managing data onsite.

Our flexible and customizable virtual storage solution provides you with a secure on demand easy-to-scale storage, which improves the agility of your business and, at the same time, helps to reduce capital expenditures and operating costs.

Success story

“We are faster, with reduced costs“

The CEO of our customer is pleased: “Together with virtion GmbH, we have developed the optimal storage solution, which we can flexibly adjust to our daily business requirements. We have become faster and were able to reduce costs. By using vOBS, the amount of files could be reduced to 70% of the previous number due to eliminating redundancies, which resulted in an optimization of storage space by approx. 40%. With the central image delivery, we are perfectly positioned for future enhancements and our customers’ needs. At virtion, our data is in safe hands. We have found a reliable partner, and we can always count on virtion’s all-round service.

Initial situation

Our customer (who is active in the “automotive” sector) offers solutions for online management and marketing of cars to his clients. Each solution is tailored to the individual CI requirements; for example, the same images have to be presented using the corresponding CI guidelines of each car manufacturer or dealer. The resulting large amounts of redundant image files are causing very high storage requirements, which makes it difficult to provide fast data delivery and search the stored image data efficiently.

Challenge

To implement the solution, there were requirements and challenges:

  • Delivering images for the various web applications should be accelerated.
  • The utilized storage capacity should be optimized.
  • The existing image files were available at different sources.
  • The daily business had to be continued without interruption.

Idea and solution

In collaboration with the customer, virtion GmbH developed the optimal infrastructure based on vOBS (virtion Object Storage), making it possible to replace the redundant and distributed data storage. The previous conventional approach of managing the data led to a massive overhead both in creating and storing the image data. This resulted in a tremendous amount of required storage ressources. With a growing amount of data, import times would have reached inacceptable dimensions. By reorganizing the storage infrastructure, storage space utilization could be optimized.

In addition, a central image delivery for all affiliated distributed web sites could be accomplished. Each image object exists exactly once now, and will be automatically prepared conforming to the respective CI requirements before delivery.

Following a migration plan prepared together with the customer, all existing image files were successfully migrated to the vOBS infrastructure, without any interruption of the customer’s daily business.

Use the opportunities of virtualization with virtion.

Contact

Personal

Phone virtion GmbH

Stapenhorststraße 42b

33615 Bielefeld

Electric

Phone +49 (0) 521 - 448158-0

Fax +49 (0) 521 - 448158-99

Mail info@virtion.de

Virtualisierung – Intelligent gelöst

Speicherkapazitäten intelligent nutzen

virtion Object Storage vOBS

Der virtion Object Storage – vOBS – ist ein sicherer Storage Service, der es Ihnen erlaubt, via Internet digitalen Content wie Bilder, Videos und Office-Dokumente einfach zu speichern und abzurufen.

Primäres Ziel von vOBS ist es, Sie zu unterstützen, die Komplexität bei der Speicherung und beim Management von Daten zu reduzieren und die Kosten zu optimieren.

Unsere flexible virtuelle Storage-Lösung bietet Ihnen einen sicheren, jederzeit nach den individuellen Bedürfnissen skalierbaren Storage, mit dessen Hilfe Änderungen im Tagesgeschäft direkt berücksichtigt werden können.

Investitions- und Betriebskosten werden durch den Einsatz von vOBS deutlich gesenkt.

Erfolgsstory

“Wir sind schneller, und das bei geringeren Kosten“

Der Geschäftsführer unseres Kunden ist begeistert und stellt fest: „Gemeinsam mit der virtion GmbH haben wir eine optimale Storagelösung für uns entwickelt, die wir flexibel an unser Tagesgeschäft anpassen können. Wir sind schneller geworden und konnten Kosten reduzieren. Durch den Einsatz des vOBS konnte aufgrund der Erkennung von Redundanzen die Anzahl unserer Dateien auf 70% der ursprünglichen Anzahl reduziert werden. Damit einher ging eine Optimierung des Speicherplatzes um ca. 40%. Durch die zentrale Bildauslieferung sind wir perfekt für Erweiterungen für unsere Kunden aufgestellt. Unsere Daten sind bei der virtion in sicheren Händen. Mit der virtion haben wir einen zuverlässigen Partner gefunden, der mit seinem Rundum-Service immer für uns da ist.“

Ausgangslage

Unser Kunde aus dem Bereich “Automotive” bietet seinen Kunden Lösungen für die Onlineverwaltung und -vermarktung von Fahrzeugen an. Jede Lösung wird an die benötigten individuellen CI-Vorgaben angepasst und ausgeliefert. Gleiches Bildmaterial muss mit den jeweiligen CI-Richtlinien des Herstellers oder Händlers präsentiert werden. Dabei entstehen große Mengen an redundantem Bildmaterial, die zu einem sehr hohen Speicherbedarf führen. Eine schnelle Auslieferung und effiziente Suche über den Datenbestand wird dadurch erschwert.

Herausforderung

Für die Umsetzung der Lösung ergaben sich Anforderungen und Herausforderungen:

  • Die Auslieferung von Bildern für die verschiedenen Webanwendungen sollte beschleunigt werden.
  • Die verwendete Speicherkapazität sollte optimiert werden.
  • Die vorhandenen Bilddateien lagen an unterschiedlichen Quellen vor.
  • Das Tagesgeschäft musste ohne Beeinträchtigung weiterlaufen können.

Idee und Lösung

Die virtion GmbH entwickelte in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden die optimale Infrastruktur unter Einsatz von vOBS, dem virtion Object Storage. Die redundante und verteilte Datenablage konnte dadurch abgelöst werden. Der bisherige konventionelle Ansatz der Datenhaltung kreierte sowohl bei der Erzeugung als auch bei der Speicherung der Daten einen massiven Overhead. Dadurch bedingt wurden immense Speicherressourcen benötigt. Die Importzeiten der Daten hätten beim wachsenden Datenvolumen den Anforderungen nicht mehr standgehalten. Durch die Umstrukturierung konnte die Speicherplatznutzung optimiert werden.

Zudem wurde eine zentrale Bilderauslieferung für alle angeschlossenen verteilten Websites umgesetzt. Jedes Bildobjekt ist jetzt nur einmal im Speicher abgelegt und wird automatisiert vor der Auslieferung unter Berücksichtigung der jeweiligen CI-Anforderungen zusammengestellt.

Anhand eines gemeinsam abgestimmten Migrationsplans erfolgte die Migration aller vorhandenen Bilddateien in die vOBS-Infrastruktur. Der Plan wurde zuverlässig eingehalten, ein Fortlaufen des Tagesgeschäfts war dadurch sichergestellt.

Nutzen auch Sie die Möglichkeiten der Virtualisierung mit virtion.

Kontakt

Persönlich vor Ort

Phone virtion GmbH

Stapenhorststraße 42b

33615 Bielefeld

Elektrisch

Phone +49 (0) 521 - 448158-0

Fax +49 (0) 521 - 448158-99

Mail info@virtion.de